Yellow Stairs Publishing

In February, I had an epiphany and founded Yellow Stairs Publishing. It was all about stars aligning, the 10th anniversary of my father’s death, and the imminence of my 40th birthday. (Lately, I have been quite inspired and productive, so I might as well ride the wave.)

Yellow Stairs Publishing is all about creating gorgeous yet affordable photo books, bringing you personal stories from all over the world. Inspired by the classics and zines alike, the aim is to embody independent, slow publishing at its best, where sustainability is non-negotiable. Through small-scale production and eco-conscious choices, Yellow Stairs’ books are not only beautiful but also gentle with your budget—and the environment.

It is an unusually pleasant day today in the Netherlands: 20+ degrees, sunshine, and the exact right amount of breeze. I am sitting in the garden of the house where the real yellow stairs connect floors, the very stairs the publishing house is named after. They represent a lot to me: courage, playfulness, connections—and, well, they are yellow. (My colour.)

The first book to be published is about my father. It will be coming out in August. I am excited and anxious about it, feeling all the feelings when one is about to make a big step in life. I can only hope I can do justice to the story that has been in the making for a decade. In my head, it looks amazing. I wonder how I will execute it. (And then live with my decisions.)

In the coming weeks, I am to finish the 1st draft, set up a newsletter, find a printer and start organising the launch event. The biggest challenge, for now, will be coming out with a newsletter of quality in a consistent manner. I have never been good at this, yet I need to keep on trying. I might as well start on this very blog.

Should you feel intrigued, do follow my journey. Yellow Stairswebsite is in the making, but there is an Instagram and a LinkedIn account that I am planning to utilise very soon.

Leave a comment